Respecting those who serve the Fraternity

ZBT wouldn’t be able to thrive as a Brotherhood for a Lifetime without the care of many partners, friends and other supporters throughout the world. A strong volunteer contingent also is key to the success of International Convention each year.

ZBT is proud to honor those men and women who exemplify fraternal excellence and serve as role models in living our Credo, Mission and Ritual as volunteers for our organization. 2022 awards included:

Maxwell Hyman Chapter Advisor Award

Chapter Advisor Fred E. Levinson, Alpha Omega (University of Miami) 1986, is being celebrated as the recipient for most outstanding chapter advisor.

Chapter advisors are essential to the prosperity of the Fraternity, our chapters and brothers. History shows that those chapters that find long-term success are assisted by strong chapter advisors. Which is why each year we recognize an individual advisor or collective advisory board who lead among ZBTs. The Maxwell Hyman Chapter Advisor Award is named for a founder of Phi Sigma Delta Fraternity who was a strong advocate of chapter advisor training.

Brother Levinson facilitated the Virtual Officer Institute track for advisors earlier this year and he currently advises two chapters in an outstanding manner.

Thank you to Fred E. Levinson, a 1986 alumnus of the Alpha Omega Chapter at the University of Miami, for his leadership among chapter advisors.

Interested in getting involved as a volunteer? Submit an application.

Stephen P.  Ehrlich Award

Presented to those alumni who make significant contributions to the operations of the International Fraternity and those who give of themselves to make ZBT a better fraternity, this award is named in honor of Past International President Stephen P. Ehrlich, a long-time advisor to Iota Chapter at University of Denver.

This year’s honoree recently concluded his term as chapter advisor liaison to the Supreme Council. He has served his chapter, Beta Delta at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, as a capable and reliable advisor since 2014. Thank you to Keith M. Brauer, Beta Delta 1982.

Campus Partner of the Year

Jonathan Ng, Associate Director of Student Engagement & Leadership, at University of California, Santa Barbara is this year’s institution partner awardee.

Ng views all ZBTs, from students to staff to supporters, as true partners in a fraternity experience. He always keeps students in the forefront, advocating for every ZBT brother and their success, even when facing challenges and navigating difficult situations. He has played an essential role in rehabilitating his campus’ chapter. His deep commitment to transparency and communication always moves the brotherhood forward.

Outstanding Young Alumnus

Jason J. Colombini, Eta Mu (California Polytechnic State University) 2014, is a highly dedicated volunteer in several international roles and a point person on the Eta Mu Chapter Advisory Board. He is this year’s honoree.

This award is given to an alumnus who has graduated within the last 20 years and has made an impact in his community and lives the ideals expressed within the Credo and Ritual of Zeta Beta Tau.

James E. Greer, Jr. Staff Award

This tribute honors outstanding contributions by a current or former member of the Fraternity or Foundation staff.

Currently serving as President of the Zeta Beta Tau Foundation as well as Delta Xi Alumni Association President, this year’s honoree has served in many other roles and capacities. Congratulations to Bret W. Hrbek, CFP, Delta Xi (Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University) 1996.

Nancy Simon Award

Recognizing Outstanding Support of ZBT by a Spouse/Partner, this tribute honors the legacy of a respected ZBT First Lady, one of the Fraternity’s staunchest supporters. This year’s honoree is Heather Lewitt, spouse of Zeta Beta Tau Foundation CEO Faron A. Lewitt, Psi (University of Alabama) 1997.